How to Read MEAN WELL Part Numbers — LRS-350-24 · HLG-240H-24AB: the numbers are power and voltage; suffixes A · B · AB · DA · P1J

Admin · 2026.10.28

A customer holding HLG-240H-24 and HLG-240H-24A asks whether they are the same despite the one-letter A difference, and a female clerk answers that A lets you adjust voltage and current with a potentiometer

Image description: At the counter of an electronic components shop, a customer holds two silver LED power supplies. The labels read HLG-240H-24 and HLG-240H-24A. The customer asks, “It's just one A at the end, so they're the same, right?” A female clerk in a red apron points to the one with the A and answers, “A means you can adjust voltage and current with the potentiometer!”

MEAN WELL is a Taiwanese power supply company that makes SMPS, LED drivers, DIN rail power supplies and adapters. In Guro, MEAN WELL part numbers such as LRS-350-24 · HLG-240H-24A are frequently searched. Most MEAN WELL part numbers follow the order series name - power - output voltage, so just reading the numbers gets you halfway. The confusing part is the letters at the end. Even within the same LED driver, A means the potentiometer-adjustable type and B means the brightness-adjustable (dimming) type — pick the wrong letter and you cannot adjust it on site.

All values were checked against the Model Encoding diagrams · Type tables · model tables of 13 official MEAN WELL datasheets (LRS-350 · RSP-500 · HRP-600 · IRM-20 · HDR-60 · NDR-120 · SDR-240 · RSD-60 · LPV-100 · HLG-240H · ELG-150 · XLG-150 · GST60A). The meanings of series-name letters such as LRS · HLG are not stated in the datasheets, so they are not explained here. Click a part number to search for stock in eGuro Part Search.

Contents
1. Decoding one part number (LRS-350-24 · HLG-240H-24AB)
2. Middle number = power, but you don't always get all of it
3. Last number = output voltage (07 is 7.5V)
4. LED driver suffixes — Blank · A · B · AB · DA
5. Letters right after the power number — G · L · H of RSD, I of XLG
6. Same letter, different meaning in each series
7. Adapter suffixes — P1J of GST60A12-P1J
8. Commonly searched part numbers explained
9. What to check when substituting

1. Decoding one part number (LRS-350-24 · HLG-240H-24AB)

How to read MEAN WELL part numbers · basic structure
Reading LRS-350-24 field by field
LRS-350 datasheet Model Encoding
①LRS
②350
③24
LRS① Series name
Enclosed type SMPS
Series name
350② Output power
350W
Output power
24③ Output voltage
24V
3.3 · 4.2 · 5 · 12 · 15 · 24 · 36 · 48
RSP-500-24 · IRM-20-5 · HDR-60-12 · NDR-120-24 follow the same pattern
LED driver
Reading HLG-240H-24AB field by field
HLG-240H datasheet Model Encoding
①HLG
②240H
③24
④AB
HLG① Series name
LED driver
Series name
240H② Rated wattage
240W
Rated wattage — one field including H
24③ Output voltage
24V
One of 12 ~ 54V
AB④ Function
Potentiometer adjustment + dimming
Function options — table in section 4
The function letter is attached right after the voltage number without a hyphen (24A · 24B · 24AB)

The Model Encoding diagram on page 1 of a MEAN WELL datasheet names each field of the part number. For LRS-350 they are Series name · Output power · Output voltage; for HLG-240H they are Series name · Rated wattage · Rated output voltage · Function options. The H of HLG-240H is grouped with 240 into one field (Rated wattage) in the diagram, and no separate meaning is given for it.

2. Middle number = power, but you don't always get all of it

The middle number is the representative power of the series. However, low-output-voltage models do not deliver the full power indicated by the number because of their current limit. Below are the rated powers (RATED POWER) exactly as listed in the datasheet model tables.

Part numberOutputRated power
LRS-350-3.33.3V198W
LRS-350-55V300W
LRS-350-2424V350.4W
RSP-500-55V450W
HDR-60-55V32.5W
HDR-60-1212V54W
LPV-100-55V60W
HLG-240H-1212V192W (16A)
HRP-600-3.33.3V396W
HRP-600-2424V648W — more than 600
GST60A05-P1J5V30W
If someone asks for "a 350W one at 5V", LRS-350-5 is actually 300W. When you need a low voltage such as 5V · 3.3V, always check the rated power · rated current of that specific part number.

The rated power of ELG-150 depends on the input voltage — 84~105W at 100~180VAC input and 120~150W at 200~305VAC (the title also says “84~150W”).

3. Last number = output voltage (07 is 7.5V)

SeriesVoltage notationCaution
LRS · RSP · HRP · IRM · HDR · NDR · SDR · LPV · RSDVolt number as is — decimals kept as is, like 3.3 · 4.2 · 7.5HRP-600-7.5 = 7.5V
HLG · ELGVolt number + function letter right after itHLG-240H-24A = 24V · A function
XLG-15012 · 24 are volts; L · M · H are current gradesL 700mA · M 1400mA · H 2800mA
GST60A (adapter)Two digits — 05 · 09 · 12 · 2407 = 7.5V (not 7V)

In the XLG-150 Model Encoding diagram, L · M · H sit in the “Rated output voltage” field, but what actually differs in the model table is the default rated current (L 700mA · M 1400mA · H 2800mA, all 150W). The GST60A adapter uses two-digit voltages, so the 07 in GST60A07-P1J is 7.5V (model table DC VOLTAGE 7.5V).

4. LED driver suffixes — Blank · A · B · AB · DA

For LED drivers (HLG · ELG · XLG), the most important thing is the function letter after the voltage. The tables are taken directly from the Type table on page 1 of each datasheet. In stock · by request (made to order) follow the Note column of the table (In Stock · By request).

HLG-240H (e.g. HLG-240H-24A)

SuffixWaterproof ratingFunctionNote
Blank
(no letter)
IP67Fixed voltage · currentIn stock
AIP65Voltage · current adjusted with the built-in potentiometerIn stock
BIP673 in 1 dimming (1~10V · 10V PWM · resistance)In stock
ABIP65Potentiometer adjustment + 3 in 1 dimmingIn stock
C—Input/output terminal block, adjusted with internal potentiometerBy request (made to order)
DIP67Timer dimmingBy request (made to order)

A customer says HLG-240H-24 cannot adjust brightness, and a female clerk explains that for dimming you need HLG-240H-24B, with B at the end

Image description: A customer holds HLG-240H-24 and, pointing at a brightness dial on the counter, says with a troubled look, “I can't adjust the brightness…” A female clerk holds out a product labeled HLG-240H-24B and says with a smile, “For dimming you need the one with B at the end!”

ELG-150 (e.g. ELG-150-24B)

SuffixWaterproof ratingFunction
BlankIP67Fixed voltage · current
AIP65Voltage · current adjusted with a potentiometer
BIP673 in 1 dimming (0~10V · 10V PWM · resistance)
ABIP65Potentiometer adjustment + 3 in 1 dimming (0~10V)
DAIP67DALI dimming

For ELG, a hyphen and the input wiring may follow the function letter. Blank means 2-wire input, -3Y means 3-wire input (e.g. ELG-150-24A-3Y).

XLG-150 (e.g. XLG-150-M-AB)

SuffixFunctionNote
BlankFixed voltage · current (for harsh environments)By request (made to order)
AAdjusts current only with a potentiometerIn stock
ABCurrent adjustment + 3 in 1 dimming (0~10V)In stock — not available for 12V · 24V models
CVConstant voltage only, 12V · 24V models onlyBy request (made to order)
Even the same B means 1~10V dimming on HLG but 0~10V on ELG, and XLG has no B on its own, only AB. A also adjusts both voltage · current on HLG · ELG, but only current on XLG. A one-letter difference also changes the waterproof rating (IP65 ↔ IP67).

5. Letters right after the power number — G · L · H of RSD, I of XLG

Example part numberAdded letterMeaning (datasheet Model Encoding)
RSD-60G-5GInput 9~36V DC
RSD-60L-12LInput 18~72V DC
RSD-60H-24HInput 40~160V DC
XLG-150I-M-ABIIndia version (input overvoltage protection, by request) — standard version if absent
GST60A12-P1JAAC inlet is IEC320-C14 (socket for a 3-pin (IEC C13) power cord)

RSD-60 is a railway DC-DC converter, so the input voltage range is set by the letter right after the power number. The output voltage (3.3 · 5 · 12 · 24) comes after the following hyphen. Even within RSD-60, different G · L · H mean different allowable input voltages, so they cannot be substituted for each other.

6. Same letter, different meaning in each series

LetterSeriesMeaning
AHLG · ELGVoltage · current adjusted with a potentiometer
AXLGAdjusts current only with a potentiometer
AGST60AIEC320-C14 AC inlet
BHLG1~10V dimming
BELG0~10V dimming
HRSD-60HInput 40~160V DC
HXLG-150-HRated current 2800mA
LRSD-60LInput 18~72V DC
LXLG-150-LRated current 700mA
IXLG-150IIndia version
BlankHLG · ELGFixed type, in stock
BlankXLGFixed type, by request (made to order)

So you should never order by the letter alone, like “the one with A at the end” — always check it together with the series name against the table in that series' datasheet.

7. Adapter suffixes — P1J of GST60A12-P1J

Adapter
Reading GST60A12-P1J field by field
GST60A datasheet Model Encoding
①GST
②60
③A
④12
⑤P1J
GST① Series name
Industrial adapter
Series name
60② Rated wattage
60W
Rated wattage
A③ AC inlet
IEC320-C14
3-pin (IEC C13) power cord
12④ Output voltage
12V
Two digits — 07 = 7.5V
P1J⑤ DC plug
Standard plug
2.1 × 5.5 × 11mm, center +
GST60A12 without the plug letters is the safety model name (SAFETY MODEL NO.); GST60A12-P1J with them is the order number (ORDER NO.)

The part before the hyphen is written without hyphens, and the part after the hyphen is the DC plug type. The standard is P1J (inner diameter 2.1 · outer diameter 5.5 · length 11mm, center +); other plugs are chosen from the table on pages 4~5 of the datasheet.

Plug lettersTypeInner diameter / outer diameter / length (mm)
P1JTuning fork type (standard)2.1 / 5.5 / 11.0
P1I · P1L · P1MTuning fork type2.1/5.5/9.5 · 2.5/5.5/9.5 · 2.5/5.5/11.0
Ending in R, e.g. P1JRTuning fork type, right-angledSame pairing as the straight type
P2I · P2J · P2L · P2MBarrel type2.1/5.5/9.5 · 2.1/5.5/11.0 · 2.5/5.5/9.5 · 2.5/5.5/11.0
P2S · P2K · P2C · P2DLocking type (SWITCHCRAFT compatible)2.03/5.53/12.06 · 2.54/5.53/12.06 · 2.03/5.53/9.52 · 2.54/5.53/9.52
P3A · P3B · P3CMini pin (EIAJ)0.7/2.35/11.0 · 1.7/4.0/11.0 · 1.7/4.75/11.0
P4A · P4B · P4CCenter pin (EIAJ)3.4/5.5/11.0 · 4.4/6.5/11.0 · 5.1/7.4/11.0
R6B · R7B · R7BF · R1BDIN connector 3 · 4 · 5-pinPin assignment on page 5 of the datasheet

The datasheet does not explain the plug-letter rules in words. Looking at the table, they match up as P1 = tuning fork type · P2 = barrel type · P3 = mini pin · P4 = center pin, I · J = inner diameter 2.1 · L · M = 2.5, I · L = length 9.5 · J · M = 11.0, and a trailing R = right-angled. Non-standard plugs have a minimum order quantity (MOQ) or are swapped using separately sold conversion adapters.

8. Commonly searched part numbers explained

Part numberWhat it isDatasheet
LRS-350-24Enclosed type SMPS · 24V · 350.4WLRS-350
LRS-350-5Enclosed type SMPS · 5V · 300WLRS-350
RSP-500-24SMPS with built-in PFC · 24V · 504WRSP-500
HRP-600-24SMPS with built-in PFC · 24V · 648WHRP-600
LPV-100-12Waterproof (IP67) constant voltage · 12V · 102WLPV-100
IRM-20-5PCB-mount AC-DC module · 5V · 20WIRM-20
HDR-60-24Slim DIN rail · 24V · 60WHDR-60
NDR-120-24Industrial DIN rail · 24V · 120WNDR-120
SDR-240-24DIN rail · 24V · 240W (peak 360W for 3 seconds)SDR-240
RSD-60L-12Railway DC-DC · input 18~72V · 12V · 60WRSD-60
HLG-240H-24ALED driver · 24V · 240W · potentiometer adjustment · IP65HLG-240H
HLG-240H-24BLED driver · 24V · 240W · 1~10V dimming · IP67HLG-240H
ELG-150-24DALED driver · 24V · DALI dimmingELG-150
XLG-150-M-ABLED driver · 1400mA · current adjustment + dimmingXLG-150
GST60A12-P1JIndustrial adapter · 12V · 60W · standard plugGST60A

All of these part numbers appear in the model table of each datasheet (or were matched from the Type table and Model Encoding). Available voltages differ by series (e.g. NDR-120 comes only in 12 · 24 · 48V), so do not make up and search for part numbers with voltages that don't exist.

9. What to check when substituting

  • Rated power — compare by the rated power · current of that part number, not the number in the name (5V · 3.3V models are lower than the number)
  • LED driver suffix — if A (potentiometer) · B (dimming) · AB · DA (DALI) differ, the adjustment method on site differs. Where dimming is needed, use the right one of B · AB · DA
  • Dimming voltage — B on HLG is 1~10V; dimming on ELG · XLG is 0~10V
  • Waterproof rating — on HLG · ELG, A · AB are IP65 and Blank · B are IP67
  • Input voltage letter — G · L · H of RSD-60 have different input ranges and cannot replace each other
  • Adapter plug — even with the same voltage · power, P1J and P2L fit different jacks
  • By request (made to order) — C · D of HLG and Blank · CV of XLG are marked By request in the datasheets
Once you've found the part number, check the stock. With eGuro Part Search you can see stock from domestic distributors, including the Jungang Circulation Complex, all at once.

Related posts
· MEAN WELL datasheets — series index (SMPS · LED drivers · DIN rail · DC-DC)
https://eguro.kr/en/board/view.html?b=library&id=226
· MEAN WELL company profile
https://eguro.kr/en/board/view.html?b=maker&id=227
· How to read voltage regulator part numbers — 7805 · LM317 · AMS1117 · LDO
https://eguro.kr/en/board/view.html?b=library&id=96

Sources: Model Encoding · Type tables · model tables of official MEAN WELL datasheets LRS-350 (2025-09-12) · RSP-500 (2025-09-26) · HRP-600 (2026-04-03) · IRM-20 (2025-11-21) · HDR-60 (2026-10-09) · NDR-120 (2026-04-03) · SDR-240 (2025-02-17) · RSD-60 (2026-07-09) · LPV-100 (2026-09-07) · HLG-240H (2026-02-04) · ELG-150 (2026-07-06) · XLG-150 (2026-02-04) · GST60A (2026-04-03). The meanings of series-name letters and the adapter plug-letter rules are not stated in words in the datasheets. Before placing an actual order, check the datasheet of that part number.

▲ NextHow to Read Infineon (IR) MOSFET · IGBT Part Numbers — 4-digit numbers in IRF3205 · IRF4905, the N in IRFZ44N, BSC014N03LS · IKW40N120H3
▼ PreviousMORNSUN(金升阳) 데이터시트 — DC-DC·AC-DC 컨버터·SMPS·통신 모듈·게이트 드라이버